The Grand Piano

The Grand Piano

Floyce Alexander
Add To Cart

The Grand Piano by Floyce Alexander contains three, autobiographical poem sequences: 'The Grand Piano' in ten sections; 'Another Young American Pilgrim' in seven parts; and 'Irena Casteñada' in five parts. The introduction is written by Christopher Howell. And the afterword is written by Bill Tremblay.

This is the print edition of the embedded audio ebook.

(Fixed layout audio book for iBook (on iPad) can be purchased here.)

Floyce Alexander was born in Fort Smith, Arkansas, December 31, 1938, the son of a western Arkansas coal miner whose own father was a cotton tenant farmer in eastern Oklahoma.

Growing up in the fifties in the lower Yakima Valley of Washington state, where his father homesteaded a farm near a town of eleven hundred souls, Alexander was paid ten cents per column inch for writing high school sports for a weekly newspaper for four years. Upon graduating from high school he was offered a football scholarship by a California college after having played the game only one season. Choosing to accept a journalism scholarship instead, he was sports editor of a nearby college weekly & editor in chief of the college yearbook before making his way to the University of Washington in Seattle. There he discovered not only his first city but another world of writing in fiction & poetry. He showed some of his work to Theodore Roethke, who encouraged him to continue.

For seven years, during the sixties, Alexander worked full time as an editor & writer at Washington State University, Pullman, where he earned a Master of Arts degree in English. He also holds the Master of Fine Arts from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, & has a Ph.D. from the University of New Mexico, Albuquerque. Since 1989 he has lived with his wife Karenlee in Bemidji, Minnesota.

His books include Bottom Falling Out of the Dream (Lynx House Press, 1976); Red Deer (L'Épervier Press, 1982); Succor(Red Dragonfly Press, 2002); American Fires (Lynx House Press, 2003), The Ice House (Red Dragonfly Press, 2006), and The Grand Piano (Red Dragonfly Press, 2014).